Celiac disease is a gastrointestinal disease caused by the inability to digest wheat, a.k.a. gluten and gliadin. Celiac disease results in profound inflammation of the gut and the inability to digest, not only wheat, but also vitamins, minerals, essential fats and proteins. Patients with Celiac disease look as though they are concentration camp survivors.

Evidence is emerging that there is a non-celiac medical malady called wheat sensitivity.

THE DIAGNOSIS OF WHEAT SENSITIVITY and CELIAC DISEASE REQUIRES DIFFERENT TESTS

TESTS AND SYMPTOMS FOR WHEAT SENSITIVITY:

Blood tests: sIgA anti-gliadin antibody, triglycerides, vitamins, RBC minerals, amino acids, immune marker TLR 2

Endoscopy: will be NEGATIVE for Celiac, but does not mean you do not have a wheat sensitivity

Observation of Patient: may be overweight (because the solution to pollution is dilution and you may retain gallons of water), may or may
not have abdominal symptoms

TESTS AND SYMPTOMS FOR CELIAC:

Blood tests: IgG/IgA antigliadin antibodies, endomysial IgA antibodies, endoreticular antibodies, transglutaminase IgG/IgA antibodies,
vitamins, RBC minerals, amino acids, immune markers IL 6 and IL 21

Endoscopy: will be POSITIVE for Celiac

Observation of Patient: profoundly underweight with a BMI less than 18, many symptoms of GI inflammation

MILK AND WHEAT are one molecule different from being molecularly identical. As a result, I always get a IgA/IgG for casein (milk/dairy).

Of course, the ultimate test to determine if you have a wheat sensitivity is to avoid all wheat (gluten/gliadin) products. This is more daunting than what appears at first blush because there is wheat in salad dressings, the sticky stuff on envelopes, etc. If you desire to avoid all wheat – google celiac.com and doctoroz.com for alternatives to wheat. Please realize that not all gluten free products are necessarily healthy. Please read food labels. If they contain words which required you to take courses in organic chemistry….and lots of words that end in OSE and TOL (sugar), you are not eating real food.

Whether or not oats are allowable in a gluten free diet has been debated. In the past, experts recommended that people on a gluten free diet also avoid oats. This is because many companies that make oats process them in the same place as wheat products so cross contamination is an issue. Research has shown pure, uncontaminated oats are usually tolerated. If you start to include oats in your diet, start slowly and monitor how you feel.

There is an explosion of gluten free products in stores and restaurants. Monitor carbohydrate grams of gluten free products. Experience has shown that even those on gluten free diets can gain weight.